We’re Going on a Bear Hunt

We’re Going On A Bear Hunt by Michael Rosen is the text chosen for this particular lesson however for older children a different text/script can be used.

Rosen’s book is excellent for Early Years lessons and can be used for cross curricular learning from Numeracy to Health and Wellbeing. The following lesson focuses on using the text as a stimuli for exploring the outdoors.

This lesson could be adapted depending on the age of the children to explore the following possible Experience and Outcomes:

Literacy

I listen or watch for useful or interesting information and I use this to make choices or learn new things.

LIT 0-04a

As I listen or watch, I can identify and discuss the purpose, key words and main ideas of the text, and use this information for a specific purpose.

LIT 1-04a

As I listen or watch, I can identify and discuss the purpose, main ideas and supporting detail contained within the text, and use this information for different purposes.

LIT 2-04a

Expressive Arts

I have experienced the energy and excitement of presenting/performing for audiences and being part of an audience for other people’s presentations/performances.

EXA 0-01a / EXA 1-01a / EXA 2-01a

I have used the skills I have developed in the expressive arts to contribute to a public presentation/performance.

EXA 3-01a

I have experienced the energy and excitement of presenting/performing for different audiences.

EXA 4-01a

I have experienced the energy and excitement of being part of an audience for other people’s presentations/performances.

EXA 3-01b

I use drama to explore real and imaginary situations, helping me to understand my world.

EXA 0-14a

I can use theatre arts technology to enhance tension, mood and atmosphere in drama work

EXA 4-14b

Leave a Reply

